September 12, 2009

12 Jyotirlinga Shrines of Siva

Somnath - Prabhas Patan in Saurashtra, Gujarat. Somnath is considered to be the first of the 12 Jyotirlingas of Shiva. Somnath is situated on the south coast of Saurashtra.

2-Mallikarjun - Sree Sailam - 250 km From Hyderabad, near Kurnool, Andhra Pradesh. This is one of the greatest Saivite shrines in India and it constitutes one of the 12 Jyotirlingam shrines of Shiva. The presiding deities here are Mallikarjuna (Shiva) and Bhramaramba (Devi).
3-Mahakaleshwar - Ujjain or Avanti in Madhya Pradesh. Ujjain, a historic capital of Central India in Madhya Pradesh is a venerated pilgrimage center enshrining Mahakaleshwara, one of the Jyotirlinga manifestations of Shiva.
4-Omkareshwar: 12 miles from Mortakka and close to Bhopal city in Madhya Pradesh on the Mandhata hill on the banks of the Narmada is one of the 12 revered Jyotirlinga shrines of Shiva. The river Narmada branches into two and forms an island Mandhata or Shivapuri in the center.
5- Kedarnath - Near Badrinath, Uttaranchal. This is one of the best known Shivastalams in India and is considered to be one of the most sacred pilgrimage centers of the country, located in the lofty Himalayas. It is revered as one of the 12 Jyotirlingams
6-Bhimashankar - Village of Bhavagiri 50 km north west of Khed, near Pune in Maharashtra. It is an ancient shrine, enshrining Bhimashankara one of the 12 Jyotirlingas of Shiva. It is located 110 km away from Pune in the ghat region of the Sahyadri hills. Bhimashankar is also the source of the river Bhima, which flows south east and merges with the Krishna river near Raichur. The other Jyotirlinga shrines in Maharashtra are Tryambakeshwar and Grishneshwar
7-Vishwanath temple in Benares in Uttar Pradesh. Varanasi - Benares - Kaasi is considered to be the holiest of all pilgrimage sites in India. It is considered home to Shiva - Visweswara. Benares is also known as Kaasi because it is beleived that Supreme brilliance shines there, and lights the way to salvation (Kas - to shine). Varanasi is located between two rivers Varana and Asi, and hence the name Varanasi.
8-Tryambakeshwar - Near Nasik in Maharashtra. Tryambakeshwar located near at a distance of about 30 km from Nasik in Maharashtra is revered as one of the 12 Jyotirlinga shrines of Shiva. Tryambakeshwar is the source of the river Godavari. This is an ancient shrine, however the current structure is a result of the reconstruction efforts undertaken by the Peshwa Balaji Bajirao in mid 18th century. The other Jyotirlinga shrines in Maharashtra are Bhimashankar and Grishneshwar
9-Nageshwar near Dwarka in Gujarat is one of the 12 Jyotirlinga Shrines of Shiva. Lord Krishna Himself used to worship it and perform Rudrabhishekam. It is located on the route between Dwarka and the Bet Dwarka island, on the coast of Saurashtra in Gujarat
Vaidyanath: Deogarh in the Santal Parganas area of Bihar. This shrine represents one of the 12 Jyotirlingams of Shiva held in reverence throughout the country. Vaidyanath is located at Deogarh in the Santal Parganas region of Bihar
11-Ramesham: Rameswaram, in Southern Tamilnadu. This Shivastalam is considered to be one of the holiest shrines in India. It represents the southernmost of the 12 Jyotirlingams of India and has been a time honored pilgirmage center held on par with Banaras. The island-temple town is located off of the Sethu coast of Tamilnadu (south eastern).
12-Grishneshwar: It is located at a distance of 11 km from Daulatabad near Aurangabad, close to Near Ellora, in Maharashtra. Grishneshwar is an ancient pilgrimage site revered as the abode of one of the 12 Jyotirlingas of Shiva. Daulatabad was once known as Devagiri. Located nearby are the popular tourist attractions Ellora - featuring ancient rock cut monuments from the 1st millennnium CE, and Ajanta known for its exquisite cave paintings again from the 1st millennium CE.

12 Jyotirlinga Shrines of Shiva
Saurashtre Somanaatham Cha
Sree Saile Mallikarjunam
Ujjayinyaam Mahaakaalam
Omkaare Mamaleswaram
Himalaye to Kedaram
Daakinyaam Bhimashankaram
Vaaranaasyaam cha Viswesam
Trayambakam Gowtameethate
Paralyaam Vaidyanaatham cha
Naagesam Daarukaavane
Setubandhe Ramesham Grushnesam cha Shivaalaye

No comments:

Search This Blog